Celebrating a long awaited finish!

Standard

My big pink quilt is finished and I just love it!

Cwilt Mawr Pinc 2

I had it basted for over a year (not kidding) and the backing was really bugging me, it was too much for the quilt. So I took off the flowery backing that you can see in this post, instead I made my first pieced backing in greys and a row of the same prints as the quilt top.

Cefn y cwilt mawr pinc

After this year’s Fat Quarterly Retreat i felt brave enough to tackle FMQ on this huge beauty too. Thanks Trudi for the instruction in that class – it made a huge difference to me. Of course, I used Aurifil 50wt thread too after seeing how it behaved in that class. I didn’t have one thread breakage!

Cefn y cwiltio

Now i’m new at this FMQ, so this quilt is full of rookie mistakes and flaws. I probably shouldn’t have used red on the back. It would have been much better to have have a dark grey matching thread – my flaws wouldn’t have been so visible! But I was a bit nervous of using different threads in the top and bottom. I shouldn’t have been. Next time I will take more care whilst considering the colour of the bobbin thread.

Camgymeriadau

There’s build up of thread, overshooting my line etc etc…. but do you know what… I STILL love this, and it has pride of place on our bed.

Is it weird to have a “favourite bit” of the quilt – do others have this too? Well mine is the very small pebble bit at the corners of the light blue sashing. Did I say I’m new at FMQ… I kept my dodgy pebbling to a minimum!!

Fy hoff ran o'r cwilt

So there she is – she’s big, she’s bold, she’s not perfect but she’s flippin’ marvellous! I’m so proud of her.

Cwilt Mawr Pinc

Pattern and most of the fabrics are Kaffe Fassett.

14 responses »

  1. Fi wrth fy modd da’r calonau wyneb i wyred yn y trydydd llun – edrych fel tynau babis bach! Mae’r cwiltio gwerth gweld. Mae gen i cwilt yn barod I’w cwiltio ers misoedd – fydd rhaid i fi just mynd atti!

  2. It’s brilliant!! And the pebbles are perfect.
    I always have a favourite bit of quilting (normally the bit that looks like it should!!)

Leave a Reply

