Surprise Porthole Baby Quilt

Standard

I needed to make a baby quilt for a good friend of mine. I had blocks left over from a previous jelly roll project, I played around with them and made this.

20130801-094536.jpg

I wanted her son’s name on the quilt, but felt the front was busy enough as it was, and adding it to the back was probably a better idea. I also had lovely bug fabric that I bought to make something for a boy. This coupled with seeing all the lovely portholes made at this year’s Fat Quarterly Retreat got me thinking. Why not have a surprise porthole on the back, and sew his name around it? The bug jar could be fussy cut to show through. (I took Lu Summers‘ porthole class in last year’s Fat Quarterly Retreat)

20130801-000942.jpg
I’m really happy with how it turned out. I quilted most of the quilt in straight lines, but added FMQ to the center panels, and echoed the porthole too.

20130801-095252.jpg

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

