“Girl fabrics are prettier!”

Standard
“Girl fabrics are prettier!”

20140418-190215.jpg
My 6yo son has a quilt, but has demanded another one. He was in tears the other night (exhaustion playing a major part) saying that his quilt isn’t as pretty as the one I’m finishing for his cousin Nel.
TEARS! “Girl materials are much prettier Mami” he wailed!

A few days later after sewing some dolls house quilts with my daughter I told him to choose some fabrics he liked from my big box.
This is the result. He picked lots of greens and red in charm squares. And he was VERY specific that he wanted a big square of bug fabric right in the middle.

20140418-185927.jpg
It’s very different to what I would have chosen for him, but he loves it. He also helped me piece the majority of the quilt top. (So there are a few wobbly seams and squares which wont match up, but I love it! )

We also put a panel on the back to make it a quillow (but I haven’t yet put any applique on the pillow bit, so it’s just plain beige fleece at the moment.
It’s backed with the fleece just as he wanted.

His quilt, his choices, his hard work and I’ve got the happiest 6year old in the world!

20140418-185702.jpg
Now my daughter wants another quilt!

3 responses »

  1. I had to laugh when I read this. My son is always picking out fabrics for my projects. He always picks things that I would never put together. But the combinations always seem to work.

    • I know, funny to see them chose isn’t it? I was quite glad he wanted some of the fabrics that I had rejected – a real stash buster in action!

Leave a Reply

