Sewing Leggings

Standard

20140419-164017.jpg

I followed this great tutorial to copy a pair of leggings for my daughter. Wow, how come it’s taken this long to discover twin needle magic?!

20140419-164143.jpg
It was really easy and fun, so how hard could it be to make adult ones?

I had a go at drafting my own leggings. I followed this tutorial here one little minute draft your own leggings.

The one thing I found was that the knee was a bit tight, and around calves. I have wide calves, and this drafted pattern didn’t allow for that. But it was a very good fit around the bum (which also a bit wide!)

Then I bought the custom fit Espresso leggings sewing pattern. Honestly, I could have just adjusted the drafted pattern I had, but there’s something comforting about the Espresso instructions and I love the way you fill in the dots on this innovative pattern.

I learnt from my own draft to allow a measurement for my calves and I lengthened the pattern by 2″.
Now I have a great fit. I’ve made 2 pairs for myself. And I can see a few more on the horizon (cycling short, 3/4 length etc).

I made both my pair and my daughters with the sewing machine. I can imagine that making them on the serger would take no time at all!

5 responses »

  1. That’s so crazy because I just discovered the twin needle too! It’s awesome, and I feel a bit silly thinking all these years that two rows of straight stitches were done seperate lay. Wow lol.

Leave a Reply

